My dream dress..

Jane Yeh Nadia Wedding Dress

Photo: Jane Yeh Bridal Gowns

So to start off the blog I will talk about the most important thing in planning a wedding…well for the bride anyway.

Finding the “Perfect Dress”.

This is my dream dress from Jane Yeh. Unfortunately, as much as I would love to spend money on this – reality set in. Do I want to spend $4000 on this for a few hours?

I was tempted – until I went to Guangzhou. Yes the plane ticket cost $2000 but it was part of my trip to China and I was fortunate enough to go to Guangzhou. They  have an area dedicated to wedding dresses (and a few for the groom)! The place is easy to find – Jiangnan Dadao Road. Literally just of the MTR and you are there. There you can find shops on the main street selling traditional Chinese dresses, wedding dresses, bridesmaid dresses, flower girl dresses. You name it. There are also other shops behind the main street shops that are worth looking at too. If you are looking for a bargain go to those – you can find similar styles as the main street shops but for a cheaper price. They also work round the clock to help tailor your dress to fit for no extra cost – so the only thing is you either need to buy it close to your wedding date or in my case, buy it a year early  and hope that I will fit into it in a years time!

So after a few hours of going around, dragging my poor fiancé around trying on dresses (as you can see, I’m not the most traditional bride – but 1. I can’t speak Mandarin, 2. I’m not a good bargainer and 3. We both wanted to visit Guangzhou – he had to come along)  I managed to find two dresses all for the price of NZ$300 TOTAL.

It’s not my dream dress but it does have the components of what I like – the belt/ribbon is really important. In all honesty – you might think the material is not as nice as what you might hope for (i.e. silk, crystals etc) but I found the dress that fits me very well, is a style that is quite unique and reflected me. I love wearing it.

Just a word of warning – if you do want to visit Guangzhou keep in mind there is a bit of  “Chinese styling” in each dress. Make sure that if there any additions that you can alter it if you want.

And ultimately “the perfect dress” is the one you feel comfortable and a million bucks in and not necessarily the one that is the most expensive or convenient! Spend time shopping around – organise a shopping trip with your bridesmaids/girlfriends – it will be fun!

Unfortunately for my readers, you will need to wait 10 months and 2 weeks to see the dress(es). 🙂

Leave a Reply

